REACHING BEYOND OURSELVES

DSC050880

My heart is tugging me to do a volunteering job but my body is tired from a long day of work. Starting 4:30 in the morning – for a not morning person. that’s tough! I know, my friend Julia called me a crazy Filipina. Ha! Love her. A lot of things swam into my head yesterday while I was at work. One of them was contemplating whether I would do a volunteering job after work for church, they have something going on there every Wednesday for the community which is a blessing for many including myself. I thought God, I need extra energy and boost to do what you are calling me to do today and everyday. When I get home I will prepare dinner for my husband and do little chores in the house, I don’t know if I still have anything left after then, my mind is saying to me to just stay home you’re too tired anyway and oh! those jammies are waiting for you sounds so comforting and lounging on the couch. ahhh.. what should I do? I don’t want this to be my excuse and take any excuses when it’s for you Lord.

At lunch time me and my co-worker Bellery just started reading a devotional book and she randomly flipped the pages and pick one out to read and somehow yesterday God’s message tapped my heart that is hard to ignore. He truly knows my troubled heart.

LIZZ CURTIS HIGGS of Only angles can wing it ” For a busy women like us, who don’t know how we can manage the added role of volunteer, psychologist Virginia O’ Leary offers a word of encouragement: ” The more roles women have, the better off they are, and the less likely they are to be depressed or discourage about their lives. When we have a lot to do, we complain that it’s driving us crazy – but, in fact it’s what keeps us sane. ” it’s ironic that one of the best remedies for impending burnout is to give yourself away. To pick one time and place each week where you stretch out your hands for the pure joy of doing it “.

That just gave me a different level of perspective that I am not only giving favors to the people I give my time and energy into but also to myself. I am grateful I’m able to do things like volunteering, to reach out for others. I didn’t perceive the deep sense of volunteer workers before but now it’s unraveling. Don’t do it because somebody is watching but do it because that’s what make you feel better. I believe we are here to bless others and that way we will be blessed, for ” God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown Him as you have helped his people and continue to help them. ” Hebrews 6:10

plain-Designsignagecenter

Leave a comment